Life goes on…

Hello dear Readers, I hope this finds you well.
Today is a special, historic day that will be felt around the world. Life goes on even after a bereavement, and living in the UK at this momentous time it’s impossible to be unaware of the sudden, though not unexpected, death of our monarch, Queen Elizabeth the Second. After such a long and dedicated reign of service, her absence is marked by everyone, including those who do not call themselves Royalists. Elizabeth II was a symbol of stability who gave a lifetime of service, incredibly right up to the day before she died at the age of 96, and who was an example of someone who genuinely cared about others, no matter their background. Today brings the state funeral and a rite of passage for our new king, Charles III. The monarchy can look anachronistic in our fast, digital, connected world but it stands for something I can’t identify or name, and the Queen’s demise has touched people’s hearts.
The future is more uncertain now than it ever was and climate change threatens us all. The war in Ukraine has pressurised the entire world to think again, and quickly, about how to use energy wisely. It is certainly a time of change as a new era awaits.
The Katherine Wheel Series spans another time of change over the two World Wars. Book One, Daffodils, is currently #free, so grab a copy while you can. It has also received over 3000 reviews and ratings now and I’m grateful to everyone who took the time and trouble to write and let me know their experience of reading my story. I hope you go on to read the five sequels in the saga too.

Meanwhile, I’m working on a new project. Quite a different one and set in the first Elizabethan age, a time of great discoveries and daring adventures. The research is daunting but absolutely fascinating. I’ll post updates on my progress as it goes along here at The Plotting Shed.
And in the meantime, good luck with all your endeavours,
with love, Alexxx
click here to go to The Katherine Wheel Series

click here to collect your #free copy of Daffodils:

#FREE! The Rose Trail, Book One of The Spirit Level Series

To celebrate the publication of Book Two in the Spirit Level Series, Triskelion, and to mark #Black Friday, The Rose Trail is #FREE for a few days, starting today!

Fancy delving into a spooky story set in the English Civil War? Roundheads and Cavaliers fought each other at that turbulent time – even if they were brothers. Rose, thwarted in love, seeks revenge and leaves a trail of rose scent when she visits Meadowsweet Manor, causing all sorts of mayhem. Can Fay and Percy, two mismatched psychic detectives, help Rose find eternal peace, or will this unhappy ghost cause them more harm than good?

Grab a copy and find out!


Peace Lily, Book Two of The Katherine Wheel Series, #FREE for a short while

Grab your chance to get the sequel to Daffodils for free for a limited period!

Book Two of The Katherine Wheel Series

I’m really excited to announce that are hosting a promotion for Peace Lily for the first time and as Daffodils remains free for the moment, you can now get the first two books in The Katherine Wheel Series for absolutely nothing for the next few days! Even if you have read them, please let your friends know about this opportunity to get stuck into the saga of Jem and Katy, Cassandra and Douglas as they fight their way through the many challenges of World War One in Daffodils, only to face more in its aftermath in Peace Lily. The series now numbers six books in all and concludes with a pair of books designed to be read together, Woodbine and Ivy, as the next generation of Phipps and Smythes face more life-changing dramas in the Second World War.

Also, welcome to my new website at The Plotting Shed, hosted by WordPress. I was sad to say goodbye to my old familiar Blogger site but I’m happy to report that I’ve managed to retain the domain name and my new site offers many new toys for me to play with (once I get used to it!).

Meanwhile, I’ve been busy writing a new story, Triskele, which will be the sequel to The Rose Trail in the Spirit Level Series of ghostly tales. Fay and Percy, those slightly mad mismatched psychic detectives, embark on their first paid assignment on the Welsh island of Anglesey, once home to the Druids. It’s a complicated tale with connections to spirits who lived there over 2000 years ago but, as they investigate the weird happenings in a rock star’s studio, they discover startling revelations that resonate deeply with the challenges we all face in the 21st century. Hoping to publish Triskele this autumn and am now working on the second draft. Its publication will be announced here, of course.

Book Two in The Spirit Level Series, Triskele, coming soon!